Award Winners

2016 Awards: Margaret A. Edwards Award

Our next award given out by Official Librarians is….*drumroll*

Margaret A. Edwards Award


“The Margaret A. Edwards Award, established in 1988, honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature.”

Authors like Judy Blume, Gary Paulsen, Anne McAffery, Lois Lowry, Madeline L’Engle, and Orson Scott Card have also won this award.

This year’s winner: David Levithan!

David Levithan is an prolific writer who wrote his first book in 2003. Since then he’s written over a dozen novels that are modern and relevant to many of today’s teen. His books tend to be set in modern day and are often about the complications of teenage life and romance. He’s worked with other notable authors like John Green and Rachel Cohn. Below are a highlight of his books; I’m sure you’ll recognize a few. For a full listing of his books, check out our catalog!


Links of note: : David Levithan’s official webpage : the American Library Association’s webpage to the Edwards award


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s