Book Reviews / Books / Reading Suggestions

Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld

Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld

Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld

 Austrian Prince Alek is on the run from assassins. To save his life and his empire, he forms an alliance with Deryn, a member of the British War Service who just happens to be a girl disguised as a boy.

I’m a huge Scott Westerfeld fan and I must say that this is one of my favorite books by him. Leviathan has got it all–action, adventure, drama, and a tinge (very slight, mind you) of romance. Westerfeld’s masterful descriptions and brilliantly crafted action scenes really bring the story to life. This is one of those books I can totally imagine on the big screen! I would love to see if Hollywood work its magic on the heavy Clanker machinery and unique Darwinist creations.

I listened to this book on CD and I later found out that I was missing out on some gorgeous illustrations. If they can get the illustrator to work on the movie (listen to me acting like there’s already a movie in the works!) I will be the first person in line for tickets! You can view the illustrations as well as learn more about the book on Scott Westerfeld’s website. I can’t wait until Behemoth, the next book in the series comes out in October!

3 thoughts on “Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld

  1. Don’t know why but this book reminds me of “The Hunger Games” which I am reading, aren’t you proud of me CPL? 😀

    P.S. I finished Linger. 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • I guess it does have kind of a Hunger Gamesish feel. Both writers are incredibly descriptive and really pull you into their worlds! Glad you’re reading The Hunger Games. It rocks, does it not?

  2. I KNOW, I am not very far in I should prob go listen to it. I lovd CD books.

    Hey any one who is not me or her READ BOOKS ON CD.

    P.S. AND PLAY-A-WAYS

    😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

