Book Reviews / Books

The plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci

The plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci

The plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci

After she survives a bomb explosion, Jane’s parents decide it’s time to move from the big city to the suburbs. Determined to lead a different life, Jane forsakes the cool crowd and instead asserts herself into a group of “uncool” girls who (despite the spelling variances) are all named Jane. The girls become friends while performing secret missions designed to bring art into the world via P.L.A.I.N. (People Loving Art in the Neighborhoods). The powers that be think that their projects are attacks on the town and try to squelch the group’s deeds. Will they be successful or will P.L.A.I.N. prevail? You’ll have to read the book and see! 

For some reason I picked up a copy of The plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci the other day with thoughts that I needed to re-read it. And boy am I glad that I did. I had forgotten what a great book it is…or maybe I didn’t do it enough justice when I read it the first time. It’s an inspiring story about finding beauty in unexpected places. Art isn’t just found in a museum–it’s all around us.

Leave a Reply

