Books

Rest in peace, J.D.

Photo of J.D. Salinger courtesy of Gale's Literature Resource Center

Photo of J.D. Salinger courtesy of Gale's Literature Resource Center

I need a book nerd moment.

Today I found out that J.D. Salinger passed away on Wednesday. He was 91 years old. If the same sounds familiar, it’s because Salinger wrote The catcher in the rye.

When I was your age (wow, that makes me feel really old), I read The catcher in the rye because it was one of those books that I knew I, as a teenager who loved to read, had to read. And I’ve never regretted it. I can’t tell you exactly why reading the book made such an impact on me, but it did. And I’m not the only one who feels that way. Some people still believe that reading The catcher in the rye is a kind of literary rite of passage. There’s just something about Holden Caulfield that really just gets you.

For as widely read as The catcher in the rye is, J.D. Salinger did not publish any other novels. As a matter of fact, he kept to himself. He retreated to his New Hampshire home in the 1960’s and very rarely made public appearances after that.

So, if you’ve never read The catcher in the rye, give it a shot. Or, if you prefer to learn more about J.D., try this “Appreciation” from Time Magazine. You can also pull up articles using one of our many fabulous Literature & Criticism databases.

Have something to say about J.D. Salinger or The catcher in the rye? Leave us a comment and tell us how you feel!

2 thoughts on “Rest in peace, J.D.

  1. Hello! I loved The Catcher in the Rye. It’s a great novel, one that you feel you have to re-read every few years.
    For reviews on books (a few of them like A Catcher in the Rye!) visit my book review blog at Elfgirl Books. 😉

Leave a Reply

