Rotten by Michael Northrop

Posted: April 3, 2014 by cplteen in books

Rotten  Rotten is the story of JD and JR.  Jimmer Dobbs spent the summer “with his aunt” but now he’s back home. When he gets there he finds he has a new roommate, a Rottweiler he names Johnny Rotten (JR for short).  As the two begin to bond, a betrayal by a friend threatens to ruin everything.  A single bite can end everything.  What started as a new beginning starts turning sour when JD’s secrets begin to leak out and his pet is threatened.

I liked this book, but I admit, if you are looking for a fast paced drama, you might want to look elsewhere.  The story is a bit slow, and where JD was all summer is left as a mystery; but the story builds so that the truths are revealed in their own natural way.

I had a hard time relating to JD because the story is told from his perspective and, well, I’m not a guy.  That’s not to say that I didn’t like him.  I rolled my eyes and laughed at some of his actions but that’s mainly because I’ve never had the “guy experience.” His friendships ring true, though, as do most of his actions.

If you are looking for a quick read that is relaxing with some suspense, take a look at this one.  I enjoyed stepping into JD’s shoes for a while and I loved how JD and JR, both somewhat lost souls, learn to trust and love one another.  You will be rooting for a happy ending in this one.  Check it out to see if it happens.

Let me know what you think.

 

Leave a Reply

