Archive for August 29, 2013

Currently listening to….

Posted: August 29, 2013 by cplteen in books

…John Green’s An Abundance of Katherines

This is the story of Colin Singleton, who gets dumped by Katherines–a lot. Nineteen times – but by different Katherines each time. He and his best friend Hassan decide to go on a road trip to heal Colin’s heart and get Hassan away from the pressure of going to college. They boys end up in Gutshot, Tennessee where they meet an interesting cast of characters.

So far, I’m loving the audiobook. It’s read by Jeff Woodman, who is skilled in bringing the characters to life. Each character is identifiable so listeners won’t have a problem following along. I’m only on the fifth disc so I can’t go into much detail as far as the story goes because I’m not quite sure where it will take me. But for now, I am enjoying the ride.

I love the dialogue between the boys and some of their pranks are pretty funny. I don’t want to give too much away because I don’t want to spoil the funny moments, but I laughed out loud a couple of times, which looks kind of funny as you are driving. But what I really love about the boys is that their relationship feels real. Now, I’m not a guy so I can’t speak from first hand experience, but the teasing, fights, and wordplay feel real to me. Especially with the creative insults. Nothing is shallow in this book. Everything seems to be leading toward something and the boys are discovering more of themselves the longer they stay in Gutshot.

The story does contain flashbacks so you do have to make sure that you pay attention to where you are in the story, but the flashbacks flow pretty seamlessly with the overall story. I only mention the flashbacks because while listening to the story as an audiobook, I had to really think back to what was going on when I came back to it after a few hours break.

This is the second audiobook I’ve listened to from John Green and he is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. If you haven’t read The Fault in our Stars yet, put yourself on the hold list. It has to be one of the best books of the year. Colin’s story is quickly becoming my second favorite teen audiobook.