45 Pounds (More or Less) by K.A. Barson

Posted: August 19, 2013 by cplteen in books

Ann Galardi is sixteen years old and overweight. Her mother is perfect in both size and person. On top of feeling pressure to lose weight from her mother, she now has a wedding to attend. To be the perfect bridesmaid for her aunt, Ann needs to lose forty-five pounds in two months. But after overhearing her baby sister’s conversation with “friends,” Ann realizes there is more at stake than the perfect dress size.

I really enjoyed this story, but I might be a bit biased. Many of the events spoke to me because I’ve been there too. I’ve been in the dressing room trying to fit into clothes that are too small. I’ve had people talking about me behind my back. So, these themes really connected with me and are presented in ways that make you laugh while cringing with sympathy. There is quite a bit of humor in the book, especially with the “Thriller” dance running through the second half.

But, while I did enjoy and connect to the book there were some elements that didn’t quite work. At times, Ann seemed very self-assured only to question herself and come across as very unaware a few pages later. This was a bit inconsistent. Also, the final conflict seemed a bit too easily resolved.

Despite these few things, I would count this book as a keeper. This will be a reread for me.

Did you read it? Tell us what you thought?

Leave a Reply

