Kimber’s TBR List

Posted: July 15, 2013 by cplteen in books

While reading for the Battle of the Books, I’ve put my own reading on hold. I took a look at it this past weekend and have discovered my to-be-read (TBR) pile is growing.

So, in no particular order, here are my top five books to read next:

Cinder and its sequel Scarlet by Marissa Meyer. Cinder is a cyborg who gets involved with a prince. Together they must protect the world in this futuristic take on “Cinderella”. The sequel, Scarlet focuses on Scarlet and Wolf. Can they join forces with Cinder and her prince in this twist on “Little Red Riding Hood”? 2014 will bring a third book to the series. Be on the look out for that one.

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey. In this Sci-Fi series starter, the world has suffered four waves of devastation from an alien invasion. The first four included an EM pulse, tsunamis, a plague, and the Silencers. What will be next? Can humankind survive the 5th wave?

Chime by Fanny Billingsley. Briony is a witch but she must hide this as well as the possibility that she may have caused her sister’s illness. But the arrival of Mr. Clayborne and Eldric may change all that. For they plan to drain the swamp and the Boggy Mun is none too happy about that. Will Briony have to reveal her secrets to save her town?

UnWholly by Neal Shusterman. In this sequel to Unwind, things are moving forward. I can’t give you much detail because I don’t want to spoil our Battle of the Books selection, but I can’t wait for this one. I was blown away by Unwind, so I am eagerly waiting for my hold to get here. Alas, I am fourth in line. Sigh.

45 Pounds (More or Less) by K.A. Barson. Barson is a new author for me but the reviews for 45 Pounds have been great. Ann has two months to fit into a bridesmaids dress for her aunt’s wedding. Will she kill herself trying or learn that being comfortable in your own skin doesn’t mean you have to be a size six?

So, those are my top five (okay six). Which ones have you read? Where do you think I should start?

Leave a Reply

