Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Posted: June 25, 2013 by cplteen in books
Tags: , ,

Ender Wiggin is only six years old when he is recruited to Battle School where he will be trained to protect mankind from the next invasion by an alien race who have already invaded and nearly won, twice before. Because of his small size, Ender is bullied by the bigger kids who want to be the star pupils at Battle School, but because of his intelligence and wit, Ender excels and quickly rises through the ranks. Battle School is a grueling series of challenges and tests and the toil takes a great toll on its students, but with the future of humanity on the line, the stakes are too high to quit. Would you have what it takes to make it through Battle School? What emotional price is too high to pay with so much at stake?

Truth be told, I am not a big science fiction reader. When a number of my friends started singing the praises of Ender’s Game, I didn’t think I would enjoy it, but I gave it a try. Wow, am I glad I did! Once I started reading, I finished the book in one sitting–it is that good!

I would compare Ender’s Game to Harry Potter in some ways–Ender is a young boy when he is thrust into a dangerous and exciting school where he is challenged to live up to his potential and grow from a boy into a protector of humanity. Orson Scott Card has written a number of sequels and prequels to Ender’s Game and greatly expanded the rich universe he created in this novel.

Contributed by Allen

Is this one YOU have read? Tell us what you thought.

Leave a Reply

