The thief by Megan Whalen Turner

Posted: April 27, 2010 by cplteen in book reviews, books, reading suggestions
Tags: , , , ,
The thief by Megan Whalen Turner

The thief by Megan Whalen Turner

Gen is a thief. Not just any thief, but a thief sentenced to life in prison for attempting to steal the King’s seal. When he is offered a chance for freedom by committing the ultimate theft, he has no choice but to accept. If he is successful, he’ll be free; if he fails, he’ll die. In The thief by Megan Whalen Turner, you’ll follow Gen on his quest to find and steal a legendary treasure. 

This is one of those multi layered stories that reveals more and more of itself as the tale unfolds. There isn’t a clear good guy or bad guy and sometimes it’s hard to tell what Gen’s (or anyone else’s) motives really are. While there were definitely a few heart pounding scenes, this is not a fast paced read. The book’s complexity and realistic characters is what really drew me in. If you’re looking for something like Graceling, I really think you’ll like The thief by Megan Whalen Turner.

Comments
  1. kylie01 says:

    Is Graceling as good as the The Thief? I almost can’t believe it. I LOVE this book! I’m impressed with the way you describe it too. When I tried to post a review about it I kept getting stuck on how much I could say without ruining the story but still expressing how wonderful it is. I love Eugenides. If Graceling is half as good as Turner’s books I’ll have to look it up.

Leave a Reply

